EU Prolongs the duration of Russian sectoral sanctions until July 2017

Posted on December 22, 2016
Archive : December 2016
Category : News

On 19 December 2016, the European Council announced that the EU's sectoral sanctions, targeting the Russian financial, energy and defence sectors, and dual-use goods (which were previously due to expire on 31 January 2017) will be extended for a further six months until 31 July 2017. This extension was effected by Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/2315 of 19 December 2016 (the "Decision"), amending Council Decision 2014/512/CFSP. The Decision came into force on 21 December 2016.

These measures against Russia were first introduced on 31 July 2014, initially for one year, in respect of the situation in Ukraine. They were reinforced in September 2014. On 19 March 2015, the European Council agreed to link the duration of the sanctions to the complete implementation of the Minsk agreements, which was foreseen to take place by 31 December 2015. Since the Minsk agreements were not fully implemented by 31 December 2015, the Council previously extended the sanctions until 31 July 2016, and on 1 July 2016, until 31 January 2017.  This further extension reflects the fact that the Minsk agreements have yet to be fully implemented.

For further detail on the EU measures currently in force in response to the crisis in Ukraine, please see an overview here as well as our previous briefings available via our blog.